As the NRL approaches the climax of its 2021 season with subsequent month’s grand ultimate, the Dally M Awards are additionally taking centre stage.

The league has tweaked the schedule of the awards this 12 months in the wake of the competitors’s transfer to Queensland throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

You’ll give you the option to observe the ceremony in our reside weblog.

Here is what you you need to know about the Dally M Awards.

When are the Dally M Awards on?

In a change kind earlier seasons, the NRL is holding the Dally M Awards over two nights.

The first occasion was held on September 20, whereas the gala ceremony will take place at Howard Smith Wharves in Brisbane tonight.

An NRL player holds the Dally M Medal in 2020.
Canberra’s Jack Wighton gained the 2020 Dally M Medal.(

Getty Images: Mark Metcalfe


The gala ceremony will characteristic the main awards, together with:

  • Dally M Medal
  • Dally M Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Captain of the Year
  • Rookie of the Year 

How can I watch the Dally M Awards?

The NRL’s broadcast companion Fox Sports will televise the gala ceremony reside from 7:30pm AEST on Monday.

Kayo Sports may even stream the ceremony.

The first occasion was televised, with a few of the award winners introduced throughout the broadcast.

These included:

  • Ken Irvine Medal (prime strive scorer): Alex Johnston (South Sydney)
  • Tackle of the Year: Xavier Coates (Brisbane)
  • Try of the Year: Tom Trbojevic (Manly)
Alex Johnston dives over the line with the ball under one arm and his other arm outstretched.
Alex Johnston claimed the 2021 Ken Irvine Medal.(

AAP: David Rowland


Why are the awards held over two nights?

Over to NRL chief govt Andrew Abdo to clarify this one.

“With the entire competition relocated to Queensland in 2021, it was important to think differently for our awards this year,” Abdo mentioned in an NRL assertion.

“We have a new format and the first ever Dally M event in Queensland, ahead of the first ever grand final in Brisbane.

“The new format will permit some gamers and friends in Brisbane to expertise the gala night in individual, whereas Fox Sports will guarantee a state-of-the artwork expertise for gamers and officers who’ve returned residence.”

Who are the Dally M Medal favourites?

Nathan Cleary gives a thumbs up to fans and smiles in pink Penrith jersey.
Penrith’s Nathan Cleary was atop the Dally M Medal standings following spherical 19.(

AAP: Dan Peled


The NRL has made tipping this year’s winner a little easier, having named the five Dally M Medal finalists a week before the gala ceremony.

The 5 finalists are:

  • Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly)
  • Nathan Cleary (Penrith)
  • James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)
  • Tom Trbojevic (Manly)
  • Cody Walker (South Sydney)

The league has already announced what the leaderboard looked like after round 19, with Cleary (24 votes) and Trbojevic (23) sitting in the top two positions.

What is the Dally M Medal?

The Dally M Medal is the NRL’s award for the season’s best and fairest player in the men’s competition.

Named after one of the greats of rugby league, Herbert “Dally” Messenger, the award is determined by a 3-2-1 voting system from each match in the 25 rounds of the minor premiership.

As several Dally M Medal contenders will miss NRL matches during the State of Origin period, each player’s best 23 matches are counted when determining their final tally of votes.

The league says any player who is suspended under its judiciary code of procedure is deducted three Dally M Medal votes for each week of their suspension.

Players who’re suspended from two or extra matches in a season are ineligible.


Source link

#NRL #Dally #Awards

Previous articleRyder Cup 2020: Europe humiliated as Team USA cruise to history-making victory at Whistling Straits
Next articleUnvaccinated to exit NSW lockdown in December